Compared · 10 tools

Compared · 10 tools

Best contrast therapy booking software in 2026

For a contrast therapy studio or spa selling shared sauna, cold plunge and hot tub sessions, the best booking software in 2026 is Session: shared sessions, private hire, per-guest waivers and gift vouchers, free to set up with a capped monthly fee. Zipper suits studios wanting a branded app, Arketa studios that add treatments, and Trybe hotel spas and bathhouses with wristbands and lockers.

Wil Grace, founder of Session

Founder of Session, setting up a community sauna in Cardiff

Updated 3 November 2026

Prices read on each vendor’s own site

Bathers in a wood-lined sauna, one holding a birch whisk

Ranked on what a contrast therapy spa needs

Shared-capacity sessions

Private hire

Per-guest waivers

Gift vouchers and memberships

Each part on its own

Key takeaways

Best overall for contrast therapy studios and spas: Session. Shared sessions, private spa hire, per-guest waivers and gift vouchers, at 0.5% per paid booking capped monthly in your own currency.

Studio that wants its own app and a till: Zipper includes a white-label app and POS on every plan, from US$118 a month.

Sessions plus treatments: Arketa runs group sessions, privates and 1:1 appointments in one system.

Hotel spa or bathhouse: Trybe handles treatments, packages and RFID wristbands for gates and lockers.

Treatment-led day spa: Boulevard or Fresha, both built around appointments.

Compare all-in cost. Card processing is extra everywhere, and a percentage with no cap keeps growing with your takings.

WHY CONTRAST THERAPY IS DIFFERENT

Contrast therapy isn’t an appointment

Several guests share the heat and the cold at once, so the software problem is different from a salon’s. Five things to check:

Tools built around sessions handle these natively. Tools built for salons or appointments can approximate some, but capacity, private hire and per-guest waivers are where the gap shows.

An appointment

One booking fills the slot

10:00-11:00

1 client, 1 practitioner

A contrast session

Four bookings share one session, and two spaces are still for sale

10:00-11:00

10:00-10:30

30-minute booking

Couple (2)

Group (4)

Member (1)

Friends (3)

2 spaces left

Shared capacity

Sell a number of spaces in one session, and stop selling when it’s full.

Private hire

Let one group book out the whole sauna or spa, without double-booking the shared spaces.

Waivers for every guest

Heat and cold water carry health risk, so each guest should sign, not just the person who booked.

Gift vouchers and memberships

Gift vouchers are a big seller for spas; memberships and bundles bring regulars back.

Each part on its own

Sell sauna and plunge as one session, or give a single ice bath or small hot tub its own capacity.

AT A GLANCE

10 tools side by side

Every price is as published on the vendor’s own site on 3 November 2026. Card processing is extra on every platform that takes cards.

#

TOOL

CATEGORY

SAUNA-LED

REGION FOCUS

PRICING MODEL

1

Sauna booking platform

Yes

UK / Ireland / US / AU / NZ

UK / Ireland / US / AU / NZ

0.5% per paid booking, capped monthly in your own currency (larger operators agree a rate), plus Stripe’s card fees

2

Sauna and cold plunge studio platform

Yes

USD / CAD / AUD / NZD / GBP / EUR pricing

USD / CAD / AUD / NZD / GBP / EUR pricing

From US$118/mo billed annually with a 1% fee (Starter); Studio US$254, Growth US$424

3

Recovery and wellness studio platform

Partly

Not stated (US customers)

Not stated (US customers)

Individual US$49/mo + 3% transaction fee; studio plans by demo

4

Hotel, spa and bathhouse operations

Partly

UK / Ireland, US, France

UK / Ireland, US, France

Not published (demo)

5

Boutique fitness platform

No

US / Canada

US / Canada

Not published (demo)

6

Fitness, wellness and beauty suite with a marketplace

No

North America, UK, Australia, parts of Europe

North America, UK, Australia, parts of Europe

From £89 / US$79 a month per location

7

Spa, salon and medspa software

No

Not stated (US pricing)

Not stated (US pricing)

From US$143/mo; forms add-on from US$65/mo per location

8

Salon and spa marketplace

No

Global

Global

From £14.95/mo excl. VAT; online payments 1.40% + 25p; 20% on new marketplace clients

9

Fitness and wellness studio software

No

Not stated

Not stated

Not published

10

Salon, spa and fitness appointments

No

US / UK

Subscription by plan, plus US$10 a month per extra calendar

Card processing is extra on every platform that takes cards. Compare all-in costs, not headline rates.

1. Session

Best for contrast therapy studios and spas

Session is booking software for saunas and the sessions around them. Guests book spaces in a shared session until it’s full, or one group books out the whole spa as private hire, and the two never double-book. Sell sauna, ice bath and hot tub as one contrast session, or give each part its own capacity. Each guest can sign their own waiver on their own phone, staff check guests in on arrival, and gift vouchers, memberships and bundles sell from the venue’s own booking page.

Best for: contrast therapy studios and wild, outdoor and wellness spas that sell shared sessions and private hire. Session has live venues in the UK, Ireland, the US, Australia and New Zealand.

0.5%

per paid booking, capped each month in your own currency: US$150, £100, €90, A$150, C$140, NZ$170. Free to set up, no subscription.

Plus Stripe’s card fees, paid into your own Stripe account. Operators already taking more than £30k a month in bookings (or the equivalent in their currency) when they join agree a cap with us directly.

Trade-off: no one-to-one treatments such as massage yet (on the way), and no POS, card reader connection, wristbands or lockers.

Leeds Community Sauna’s booking page on Session
OKR Sauna’s booking page on Session
A community sauna’s booking page on Session

Real booking pages on Session, including Leeds Community Sauna and OKR Sauna.

2. Zipper

Best for US-style studios that want a branded app

Zipper is built for sauna and cold plunge studios. It sells sessions with a set capacity, bookable bays, pods and suites, memberships, session packs, gift cards, waivers and front-desk check-in, and includes POS and a white-label app on every plan.

Pricing is a subscription: Starter US$118 a month (billed annually) with a 1% platform fee and up to 150 active clients, Studio US$254 with no platform fee and up to 400 clients, Growth US$424 with a second location, plus Stripe’s fees. Extra locations are US$129 a month each.

Best for: studios that want their own app and a till, and expect enough volume for a monthly subscription.

SAUNA-LED

Yes

REGION

USD / CAD / AUD / NZD / GBP / EUR pricing

PRICING

From US$118/mo billed annually, 1% fee on Starter

Strong at

A white-label app and POS on every plan; bookable bays, pods and suites

Trade-off

A monthly subscription with a client limit on each plan, before card fees

3. Arketa

Best for sessions plus treatments

Arketa covers saunas, cold plunge, contrast therapy and wellness studios. Rooms carry their own capacity, it runs group sessions alongside private and 1:1 appointments, and it includes memberships, packs, gift cards, waivers, check-in, Kisi door access and POS on studio plans.

The Individual plan is US$49 a month plus a 3% transaction fee and Stripe’s fees, for one team member and one location. Studio plans (Core, Growth and Suite) are priced by demo.

Best for: recovery studios that sell treatments or consultations as well as sauna and plunge.

SAUNA-LED

Partly

REGION

Not stated (US customers)

PRICING

Individual US$49/mo + 3%; studio plans by demo

Strong at

Group sessions, privates and 1:1 appointments in one system, with Kisi door access

Trade-off

Studio-plan pricing isn’t published; a 3% transaction fee on the Individual plan

4. Trybe

Best for hotel spas and bathhouses

Trybe runs hotel, spa and bathhouse operations: thermal sessions and day passes, treatments, packages, memberships with credits, vouchers, retail and food, and RFID wristbands for gates, lockers and payments.

Its customers include The Bathhouse New York and Aurora Spa Bathhouse alongside hotel groups, with sites for the UK and Ireland, the US and France. Pricing isn’t published; it’s sold by demo.

Best for: spas with treatment rooms, wristbands and lockers. A larger system than a contrast therapy studio usually needs.

SAUNA-LED

Partly

REGION

UK / Ireland, US, France

PRICING

Not published (demo)

Strong at

Treatments, packages and RFID wristbands for gates, lockers and payments

Trade-off

Pricing not published; built for hotel and spa operations as much as studios

5. Mariana Tek

Best for large class-led recovery brands

Mariana Tek (part of Xplor) is a boutique fitness platform used by recovery brands including Othership. It runs class schedules, packs and memberships, waivers, kiosk check-in, multi-location and custom-branded iOS and Android apps.

Pricing is by demo, with Core, Core + Growth and Full Growth bundles.

Best for: multi-site brands that run contrast therapy as classes and want their own app.

SAUNA-LED

No

REGION

US / Canada

PRICING

Not published (demo)

Strong at

Class-led schedules across many sites, with custom-branded apps

Trade-off

Pricing not published; a fitness platform first, so check private hire in a demo

6. Mindbody

Best for marketplace discovery

Mindbody is all-in-one software for fitness, wellness and beauty, with a consumer app that has millions of users. It runs classes and appointments on one calendar, memberships, waivers with digital signatures, check-in and POS, and AURA Sauna Studio uses it.

Pricing starts at £89 a month per location in the UK (US$79 in North America), with Starter, Accelerate and Ultimate plans quoted on a call. Gift cards run through Spafinder.

Best for: studios that want bookings from a marketplace and pay per location.

SAUNA-LED

No

REGION

North America, UK, Australia, parts of Europe

PRICING

From £89 / US$79 a month per location

Strong at

Marketplace reach through the Mindbody app

Trade-off

A monthly fee per location before card fees; plan prices quoted on a call

7. Boulevard

Best for treatment-led spas

Boulevard is spa, salon and medspa software built around appointments, with group appointments, group checkout, an open API and its own POS. Sauna House in Asheville, a hot and cold therapy venue, has used it since 2021.

Plans start at US$143 a month (Essentials), with Premier and Prestige above it per location. Forms are an add-on from US$65 a month per location.

Best for: spas where treatments are the main business and contrast therapy is one of the services.

SAUNA-LED

No

REGION

Not stated (US pricing)

PRICING

From US$143/mo; forms add-on from US$65/mo

Strong at

Appointment scheduling, group appointments and POS for treatment-led spas

Trade-off

A monthly subscription per location, with forms as a paid add-on

8. Fresha

Best for treatment-heavy spas

Fresha is spa and sauna software with a large consumer marketplace. It covers individual sessions, memberships, group bookings, treatment rooms, packages, gift cards and POS for spas offering massage and facials.

Plans start at £14.95 a month (Independent, excl. VAT), or £9.95 per team member on Team. Online payments are 1.40% + 25p, and new clients from the marketplace carry a 20% commission (minimum £4).

Best for: spas whose main business is massage and facials, and who want marketplace reach.

SAUNA-LED

No

REGION

Global

PRICING

From £14.95/mo; online payments 1.40% + 25p

Strong at

Marketplace discovery and treatment-room booking

Trade-off

A 20% commission (minimum £4) on new marketplace clients

9. Momence

For fitness and wellness studios adding a sauna

Momence is fitness studio software for classes, appointments, workshops and spaces, with memberships, packs, gift cards, custom waivers, POS and a branded app option. Waking Dreams in East London runs classes alongside sauna and cold plunge on it.

Pricing isn’t published on its pricing page, which asks you to get in touch.

Best for: yoga and fitness studios where the sauna is an extra.

SAUNA-LED

No

REGION

Not stated

PRICING

Not published

Strong at

Classes and appointments in one place, with a branded app option

Trade-off

Pricing not published

10. Vagaro

For salons and spas adding sauna slots

Vagaro is salon, spa and fitness software for appointments, from independent estheticians to multi-location spas, with waiver and intake forms, memberships, packages, multi-location and its own PayPro card hardware.

It’s priced by subscription and by the number of bookable calendars: each extra calendar is US$10 a month, up to seven.

Best for: salons and day spas that want to add a few sauna or plunge slots to an appointment calendar.

SAUNA-LED

No

REGION

US / UK

PRICING

Subscription, plus US$10 per extra calendar

Strong at

Appointment booking with its own card hardware

Trade-off

Built around appointment calendars, priced per calendar

BY KIND OF VENUE

Which tool fits your venue

The ranking in one table. If your venue looks like one of these, start with the first pick.

IF YOU RUN

START WITH

ALSO CONSIDER

WHY

A contrast therapy studio selling shared sauna and plunge sessions

Shared sessions, private hire and per-guest waivers, with a fee that stops at the monthly cap

A wild or outdoor spa that sells private hire and gift vouchers

Private spa hire and shared spaces on one capacity, and gift vouchers that can cover a whole hire

A studio that wants its own branded app and a till

A white-label app and POS on every plan

A recovery studio that also sells treatments

Rooms, group sessions and 1:1 appointments in one system

A hotel spa or bathhouse with wristbands and lockers

Thermal sessions, treatments and RFID wristbands for gates, lockers and payments

A large, class-led brand with several sites

Class schedules, multi-location and custom-branded apps

A day spa where treatments are the main business

Appointment booking for treatments, with group appointments and POS

“The customer journey is much smoother than something like Acuity, especially for a sauna business where sessions, capacity, memberships, check-ins and operational details all matter.”

R

Ross M

Sauna operator, switched from Acuity

A timber sauna cabin at a coastal venue

5 countries

Live venues in the UK, Ireland, the US, Australia and New Zealand

HOW WE RANKED

Written by a vendor, so here’s the method

We make Session, and it ranks first. Where another tool is stronger for a kind of venue, the entry says so.

Criteria

Seven tests, listed below: the five things a contrast therapy spa needs, cost at volume and how sauna-led the tool is.

Sources

Each vendor’s own website and pricing page, read on 3 November 2026.

Prices

As published. “Not published” means the vendor doesn’t list it.

Updates

Re-checked when a vendor changes its pricing or features.

TEST

WHAT COUNTS AS A PASS

1. Shared-capacity sessions

One session sells several spaces, and customers see how many are left

2. Private hire

The same session can be booked whole, which closes it to shared bookings

3. Per-guest waivers

Every guest signs, not just the person who booked

4. Gift vouchers and memberships

Both can be bought from the booking page, without a separate shop

5. Each part on its own

Sauna, plunge and hot tub can be one session or each have their own capacity

6. All-in cost at volume

The platform and subscription fees in a busy month, before card fees, as each vendor publishes them

7. Sauna-led

Built around sauna and cold sessions, partly, or not, as shown in the table above

Each tool is checked against these tests on its own website. Where another tool is stronger for a kind of venue, its entry says so.

Common questions

What is the best booking software for a contrast therapy studio?

For a studio that sells shared sauna and cold plunge sessions, Session is the best fit: it’s built around sessions many guests book at once, with private hire, per-guest waivers, gift vouchers and memberships, and it costs 0.5% per booking capped monthly (larger operators agree a rate). Zipper suits studios that want a branded app and POS, and Arketa suits studios that also sell treatments.

What booking software do contrast therapy spas use?

Spas that mainly sell time in the sauna, ice bath and hot tub use session-based tools such as Session, Zipper or Arketa. Spas built around treatments tend to use Boulevard or Fresha, and hotel spas with wristbands and lockers use Trybe.

Can one system handle shared sessions and private hire of the same sauna?

Yes, if shared and private bookings draw on the same capacity. In Session, a private price on a session competes with the shared spaces, whichever sells first, so the sauna is never sold twice.

Do I need a waiver for every guest?

It’s safer. Cold water and heat carry real health risks, and a waiver signed only by the person who booked doesn’t cover their friends. Session can ask each guest to sign on their own phone before they arrive.

What’s the cheapest booking software for a contrast therapy studio?

Compare the total for a typical month, not the headline rate. Session is free to set up and charges 0.5% per booking capped at £100 or US$150 a month, and larger operators agree a rate. The subscription tools here start between about £15 and US$143 a month, and some add a platform or transaction fee or limit how many clients you can have. Card fees apply on every platform.

What sauna booking software works in the US, Australia or New Zealand?

Session works in any country: each venue charges in its own currency with its own timezone and tax label, and card payments go into the venue’s own Stripe account. It’s used by mobile and community saunas in the US, Australia and New Zealand as well as the UK, with a fee capped at US$150, A$150 or NZ$170 a month. EasyWeek and Fresha are international generalists; Wunderbook and Periode are European.

Can I use Wix Bookings for a sauna?

Yes, for a simple class schedule: Wix Bookings runs classes with a maximum number of participants, on a Core plan or above (from £16 a month billed yearly in the UK). Its site doesn’t describe communal sessions and private hire sharing one room’s spaces, and waivers are linked to the person who booked. You can keep a Wix website and point its Book buttons at a sauna booking system.

Last updated: 3 November 2026. Written by Wil Grace, founder of Session, which is one of the tools compared.